MRI Scan

Tests

MRI Scan – 21st January 2019
I was dreading the MRI scan. I’d had a couple previously for shoulder and back problems and the feeling of claustrophobia was not something I was looking forward to again. It had taken all my powers of yoga relaxation techniques to overcome a sense of panic on those two previous occasions.

Thankfully, this MRI was different. I’d be lying on my front with my boobs hanging strategically in 2 holes. It was more like being on a massage table with my face in a hole than in a claustrophobic tube.

The MRI technician first inserted a canular into my hand as, after about 20 minutes of scanning, a contrast solution would be inserted into my arm through an intravenous line. This contrast agent would improve and enhance the quality of the MRI images. I then lay down on my stomach with my boobs hanging down into cushioned holes and my arms placed in front of me. I was told not to move so that the images would be as good as possible.

Despite having a set of headphones playing cheesy music, I could hear the scanner moving around and making thumping noises. After each test, the MRI technician asked if I was OK. After about 20 minutes, I was brought out of the scanner in order for the contrast agent to be injected. I could just about feel the liquid going in but it wasn’t unpleasant. Another 25 minutes of scanning and I was done.

Despite my fears, based on previous experiences, this one wasn’t at all bad. The MRI team were very supportive and friendly…… the cheesy music on the headphones was the worst part! 

Back to Top
1 - The Journey Begins click here 
2 - Diagnosis click here 
3 - MRI Scan (you're on this page)
4 - Results Confirmation click here 
5 - Biopsy click here 
6 - Reconstruction Options click here 
7 - Time to Decide click here
8 - Sentinel Lymph Node Biopsy click here
9 - Lymph Node Biopsy results click here 
10 - The Big Op click here 
11 - Day 1 Post Op click here  
12 - Day 2 Discharge Day click here
13 - Week 1 Post Op click here
14 - Week 2 Post Op click here
15 - Week 3 Post Op click here
16 - Week 4 Post Op click here
17 - Week 5 Post Op click here
18 - Week 6 Post Op click here
19 - Week 7 Post Op click here
20 - Weeks 8-13 Post Op click here
21 - 5 Months Post Op click here

 

5 thoughts on “Tests”

Leave a comment