Uncategorized

Restorative Yoga – My Final Thoughts

Admittedly, I wasn’t at all sure what to expect when I embarked on this journey, but I have really enjoyed my restorative yoga sessions and am genuinely amazed at the difference such poses have made to both my body and mind.  Before these sessions, I never really understood or realised the benefits that restorative yoga could bring and whilst I have practised yoga for over 20 years, I now have a new-found understanding and appreciation.  Restorative yoga really does make a difference and I feel extremely lucky and grateful to have been introduced to it.

Physically, I feel as though I have ‘turned a corner’ in the last few weeks in terms of my recovery.  I definitely have more movement in my arm and my back feels much more at ease.  I’m also now able to use my new toolkit of poses as and when I need them, and I have!

Being supported and being in the poses for a little longer than normal has meant that any tension I had at the start of the pose just dissolved.  Due to the various props and supports, I have felt that I could have almost been floating as there was no muscular effort whatsoever.  The support of all the props really did make a difference.  I was amazed at the impact that a heavier blanket on my abdomen could have in the pose – a sense of grounding and protection – I loved it.  I am pretty sure that my usual yoga practices will be deeper and more ‘value-adding’ from now on.

In addition to the physical benefits of the sessions, I also have found that they have allowed me to find a deeper feeling of relaxation and mindfulness.  I have a busy job and by nature, I am an active, ‘always on the go’ kind of person.  I’m not one for taking it easy or relaxing.  However, these sessions have allowed me to completely switch off and to completely deactivate both my mind and body…. something that I really thought would never happen (nor did Janice).

The combination of physical support and mindful rest has meant that I have been able to relax more than ever and have felt that my poses have been deeper and more ‘meaningful’ than previously.  I have been able to engage in the poses more, to switch off and really relax.  This aspect has truly astounded me as I never thought that this would be possible.

As an added benefit, I have found that I have slept better after each session which is very much welcomed because my sleep has been disturbed severely since my surgery (cannot seem to get comfortable) and my medication (causes insomnia).  Each session has left me feeling nourished, soothed, deeply relaxed and well rested.

Even though these sessions have now finished, I have been incorporating them into my normal health and well-being routine and will continue to do so in the future.

Oh, and yes…….. Janice gained her advanced restorative yoga practitioner’s certificate! Yay!

 

Back to Top

Session 1 – click here 
Session 2 – click here 
Session 3 – click here 
Session 4 – click here 
Session 5 – click here 
Session 6 – click here
My Final Thoughts – you’re already here

Leave a comment